EMT Conferences

8th International EMT Meeting

The 8th International EMT Meeting ~ Houston, Texas, USA - Decenber 7-10, 2017
Convenors: Professor Raghu Kalluri  | Professor Jing Yang
Venue:The University of Texas M.D Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Online Registration: Online registration now open
Betty Hay Award and Prizes 2017: Details of the prestigious Betty Hay award and travel scholarships.

Local Organising Committee

Professor Raghu Kalluri, the University of Texas M.D Anderson Cancer Center
Professor Jing Yang, University of California, San Diego
Dr Herbert Levine (Rice University)
Dr Sendurai Mani (MD Anderson)
Dr Valerie LeBleu (MD Anderson)

International Advisory Committee

Professor Raghu Kalluri (USA) Convenor
Professor Jing Yang (USA) co-Convenor, President
Professor Thomas Brabletz (GER)
Professor Marianne Bronner (USA)
Dr Pierre Savagner, Treasurer (FRA)
Professor Shoukat Dedhar (CAN)
Dr Ruby Huang (SIN)
Dr Don Newgreen (AUS)
Professor Angela Nieto (SPN)
Professor Ray Runyan (USA)
Professor Guojun Sheng (JPN) VPresident
Professor Erik (Rik) Thompson
Professor Jean Paul Thiery (SIN)
Professor Robert Weinberg (USA)


Prizes announced before the meeting.
  • Betty Hay Award
  • TEMTIA Poster Award
  • TEMTIA Travel Bursaries

Meeting Themes and Registration

Epithelial-Mesenchymal Transition (EMT) is a cellular process where cells in an epithelium acquire the ability to invade the underlying extracellular matrix or adjacent tissue. It is a normal process in development used for the formation of three-dimensional structure in the embryo but is usually associated with pathologies in the adult.

These meetings are designed to bring together Developmental Biologists, Cancer Biologists and Pathologists, who might not normally interact in discipline-specific meetings, to discuss the common and disparate elements of EMT in their research. We expect that results presented in the areas of cancer metastasis, organ fibrosis, wound healing and embryonic development will lead to new insights and approaches that will move each of the respective research fields and advance health research.

The 2017 conference is thematically structured around Epithelial Mesenchymal Transition (EMT) across development, cancer, fibrosis, and wound healing. The session themes include:

EMT in Tissue Morphogenesis
EMT Signaling Transduction
EMT, Cell Polarity and Collective Migration
EMT Systems Biology and Mathematical Modeling
EMT Plasticity in Metastasis
EMT and Circulating Tumor Cells
EMT and Cancer Stem Cells
EMT and Therapy Resistance

Platform talks will be given by a combination of senior investigators in the field and newer investigators selected from submitted abstracts. Substantial Poster presentation time will enable each participant to share their work with the other attendees. An initiative of the Melbourne Meeting, the ECR (Early Career Researcher) Forum will continue consisting of 2x 100min sessions to host 10 talks by graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.

Important Dates: see website for full details

Awards application deadline:
Oral Abstract Submission deadline:
Discount registration deadline:
Registration payment deadline:
September 16, 2017
November 7, 2017
October 15, 2017
November 21, 2017

All deadlines end at 6.00pm PT

Awards for TEMTIA -VIII, Houston TX, 2017

  1. Betty Hay Award (TEMTIA)
  2. TEMTIA Poster Award and Travel Bursaries
  3. Additional Travel Bursaries TBA

General comments:
Applicants should be actively engaged in EMT research in a recognised Tertiary Institution and must have had their abstract accepted for presentation at the conference.

All award applications must be submitted via online submission by 5 June 2015. Be sure to indicate the award type(s) for which you are applying.

Successful awardees will be informed via email. TEMTIA-VII international committee reserves the right to withdraw any application.  The TEMTIA poster awards will be judged by the TEMTIA Committee and co-opted judges.

More details regarding the awards can be found here.